Originally formed as Poynton Amateurs Football Club in 1893, few records of their successes are traceable, but it is known that they once played in the same division as Stockport County Reserves. Lord Vernon gave land in London Road, Poynton to be used for the playing of football and it was through this donation that the club was formed.

Most of the clubs recent football was played in the Lancashire and Cheshire League where they made steady progress winning Division Three in 1970-71 and topping Division Two at the end of season 1977-78. 1985 gave the club their most successful season thus far when they finished as Lancashire and Cheshire Division One Champions. They also lifted the Stockport Senior Cup with a win over Adswood Amateurs and added the Cheshire Aggregate Cup to make it a hat trick of trophies.

This success prompted them to join the Mid Cheshire League in 1986. Life in the new league was far from easy, however the since 1996 things have constantly improved. The Stockport Senior Cup was won for a second time in 1999.

Season 2000/01 became the best in the clubs history with the club finishing in runners up spot in the Mid Cheshire League Division One, along with semi-finalists in the Cheshire Amateur Cup, finalists in the Mid Cheshire League Cup and winners for the third time of the Stockport Senior Cup, with a 2-1 victory over local rivals Grove United, at Edgeley Park. The clubs reserve team reached the semi-final of their League Cup only to loose 1-0 to Pilkington Reserves.

Since that season the side have finished runners up twice, won the Presidents Cup twice and lifted the Stockport & District FA Cup on three occasions – the latest victory coming last season with Andrew Simpson heading home the winner against Linotype Cheadle Heath Nomads.

Captain Jake Wright with the Stockport & District FA Cup 2018



Cheshire League Premier League

Runners Up – 2000/01, 2003/04, 2016/17

Cheshire League Division 1

Champions – 2013/14

JB Parker Premier Division Challenge Cup

Runners Up – 2000/01, 2016/07

President’s Cup

Winners – 2001/02, 2005/06

Stockport Senior Cup

Winners -1984/85, 1998/99, 2001/02, 2008/09, 2014/15, 2017/18
Runners Up -1991/92, 2013/14

Lancashire & Cheshire League Division 1

Winners – 1984/85

Lancashire & Cheshire League Division 2

Winners – 1977/78

Lancashire & Cheshire League Division 3

Winners – 1970/71

Lancashire & Cheshire League Division Aggregate Cup

Winners – 1984/85


Cheshire League Reserves Division

Runners Up – 2007/08

Cheshire League Reserves League Cup

Winners – 2006/07, 2007/08
Runners Up – 2003/04, 2005/06

Macclesfield & District Cup

Winners – 2001/02


If you have any stories, pictures, programmes from our history please get in touch so we can make our history even better, please email with your details!